This is the "Home" page of the "San Francisco Tour Guide Ms. Raynor/ Ms. Raza" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

San Francisco Tour Guide Ms. Raynor/ Ms. Raza  

Last Updated: May 9, 2016 URL: http://hamlin.libguides.com/content.php?pid=697995 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

More books on San Francisco

Cover Art
Life in San Francisco's Chinatown - Sally Senzell Isaacs
ISBN: 1403405247
Publication Date: 2002-07-01
An overview of life for the Chinese immigrants living in San Francisco from 1840 through 1910, including their employment, family life, and everyday activities, as well as the prejudice they faced.

Cover Art
100 Things to Do in San Francisco Before You Die - Patricia Corrigan; Eve Batey
ISBN: 9781935806813
Publication Date: 2014-10-01

Cover Art
Chang's Paper Pony - Eleanor Coerr; Deborah Kogan Ray (Illustrator)
ISBN: 0060213299
Publication Date: 1988-07-20
In San Francisco during the 1850's gold rush, Chang, the son of Chinese immigrants, wants a pony but cannot afford one until his friend Big Pete finds a solution.

Cover Art
Earthquake - Milly Lee; Yangsook Choi (Illustrator)
ISBN: 0374399646
Publication Date: 2001-08-02
A young Chinese-American girl and her family move their belongings from their home in Chinatown to the safety of Golden Gate Park during the San Francisco earthquake of 1906

Cover Art
Golden Gate Bridge - Kate Riggs
ISBN: 9781583417041
Publication Date: 2009-01-01

Cover Art
San Francisco's Famous Sea Lions - Kat Shehata; Jo McElwee (Illustrator)
ISBN: 0971784302
Publication Date: 2003-04-01

Cover Art
San Francisco - Bill Yenne; Elizabeth McNulty
ISBN: 1571451560
Publication Date: 2002-05-06

Cover Art
Maybelle the Cable Car - Virginia Lee Burton
ISBN: 9780395840030
Publication Date: 1997-03-31

Cover Art
The City by the Bay - Tricia Brown; Junior League of San Francisco Staff; Elisa Kleven (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780811820127
Publication Date: 1998-04-01
The Golden Gate Bridge, cable cars, Union Square, Chinatown—these are just a sampling of the San Francisco landmarks featured in this magical journey around the fabled city by the bay. Each famous location is brought vividly to life by fanciful collage illustrations that sparkle with the same color and action found in the city itself. The lively text is accompanied by a "Fun Facts" section and "Explorer's Guide" at the back of the book, making this perfect for residents and visitors alike.

 

San Francisco Zoo

 

World Book Online San Francisco

Use World Book Online Hamlin Library Resources

Includes encyclopedia, atlas, dictionary, educator’s tools and Explore California tabs
Search through other World Book sites: World Book Kids, World Book Advanced, World Book Spanish-language Encyclopedia, and L’Encyclopdie Decouverte

 

More San Francisco Books

Cover Art
Nim and the War Effort - Milly Lee; Yangsook Choi (Illustrator)
ISBN: 0374355231
Publication Date: 1997-03-21
Nim, a young Chinese-American girl, finds a way to win the prize for collecting the most newspapers in the school drive to help the war effort even though her grandfather does not, at first, aprove.

Cover Art
The Golden Gate Bridge - Craig A. Doherty; Katherine M. Doherty; Bruce S. Glassman (Editor)
ISBN: 1567111068
Publication Date: 1995-04-30

Cover Art
San Francisco Earthquake of 1906 - Lisa Chippendale
ISBN: 0791052702
Publication Date: 2000-12-01

 

Hamlin Library Books About San Francisco

Cover Art
10 Little Monsters Go to San Fransisco - Rick Walton; Jess Smart Smiley (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9781942672999
Publication Date: 2015-09-01
From Alcatraz to Coit Tower and from Lombard Street to the Golden Gate Bridge, these 10 Little Monsters discover some of them most unique and interesting things about San Francisco and what it has to over. Silly, over the top fun, a bit macabre.

Cover Art
Journey Around San Francisco from A to Z - Martha Day Zschock; Heather Zschock (Designed by)
ISBN: 1889833495
Publication Date: 2003-03-01
Features San Francisco sights and characteristics, with illustrations and text representing each letter of the alphabet, from Ansel Adams and beautiful blossoms to Yerba Buena and the zoo

Cover Art
Larry Gets Lost in San Francisco - John Skewes (Illustrator); Michael Mullin
ISBN: 9781570615672
Publication Date: 2009-03-31
Meet Pete and his dog Larry. During a trip to San Francisco, Larry accidentally wanders off and becomes lost among the grand sights of The Cit

Cover Art
Landed - Milly Lee; Yangsook Choi (Illustrator)
ISBN: 0374343144
Publication Date: 2006-02-21
After leaving his village in southeastern China, twelve-year-old Sun is held at Angel Island, San Francisco, before being released to join his father, a merchant living in the area. Includes historical notes

Cover Art
Oranges on Golden Mountain - Elizabeth Partridge; Aki Sogabe (Illustrator)
ISBN: 0525464530
Publication Date: 2001-02-01
When hard times fall his family, Jo Lee is sent from China to San Francisco, where he helps his uncle fish and dreams of being reunited with his mother and father.

 

San Francisco Tour Guide Books

Cover Art
Insight Guides - Explore San Francisco - Insight Guides Staff
ISBN: 9781780057156
Publication Date: 2014-10-01

Cover Art
Pocket Rough Guide San Francisco - Charles Hodgkins (Contribution by)
ISBN: 9780241238578
Publication Date: 2016-04-05
San Francisco guide is your essential guide to this diverse city, with information on key sights in an easy to use pocket size format, and a full-color, pull out map.

Cover Art
San Francisco - Barbara Rockwell; Anne Cherian
ISBN: 9789812589682
Publication Date: 2009-04-15

Cover Art
Top 10 San Francisco - Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff
ISBN: 9781465440914
Publication Date: 2016-02-09
DK Eyewitness San Francisco covers all the city's major attractions in easy to use "top 10 " lists that help plan the vacation that is right for you.

Cover Art
San Francisco - David Cole; Christine Battuz (Illustrator); Mary Lee Trees Cole
ISBN: 1894222288
Publication Date: 2001-05-01

Cover Art
San Francisco - Kid's Guide - Eileen Ogintz
ISBN: 9781493001514
Publication Date: 2014-11-18
Welcome to the city by the bay -- Towers & hidden gardens -- Sea lions, Hyde Park & Alcatraz Island -- Cool experiments, bridges & baseball -- Science fun & Golden Gate Park -- The famous bridge, beaches & marine life -- Dim sum, sushi & souvenirs -- Buddhas, gardens, cartoons & modern art -- Sea otters, whales, butterflies & roller coasters -- Redwoods, beaches & grapes.

Cover Art
The Cable Car and the Dragon - Herb Caen; Barbara Ninde Byfield (Illustrator)
ISBN: 087701390X
Publication Date: 1986-03-01
Tired of traveling the same route, a San Francisco cable car takes a different turn and ends up in Chinatown during New Year's celebrations

Cover Art
This Is San Francisco - Miroslav Sasek
ISBN: 0789309629
Publication Date: 2003-05-30
A pictorial tour of the city by the Golden Gate, presenting drawings of its hills, cable cars, harbor, bridges, market areas, and flower stalls.

Cover Art
Pop's Bridge - Eve Bunting; C. F. Payne (Illustrator)
ISBN: 0152047735
Publication Date: 2006-05-01

Cover Art
Walking San Francisco - Tom Downs
ISBN: 9780899976549
Publication Date: 2010-12-01
From the Gold Rush to the Summer of Love to the dotcom days, San Francisco has been a city of distinct neighborhoods. This savvy, entertaining guide explores the best of the city "on the ground" in tours that traverse its length and breadth. The 33 urban treks are a great way to soak up the history, culture, and vibe of the City by the Bay. The walk's commentary includes trivia about architecture, local culture, and neighborhood history, plus tips on where to dine, have a drink, or shop. Each tour includes a clear neighborhood map and vital public transportation and parking information. Route summaries make each walk easy to follow, and a Points of Interest section lists each walk's highlights. Walking San Francisco provides the perfect path for a weekend adventure, an after-work ramble, or a sociable pub crawl.

Cover Art
San Francisco - Deborah Kent
ISBN: 0516204661
Publication Date: 1997-09-01
Describes the history, daily life, food, sports, and points of interest of San Francisco.

Cover Art
Hannah Is My Name - Belle Yang (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780763622237
Publication Date: 2004-08-19
A young Chinese girl and her parents emigrate to the United States and try their best to assimilate into their San Francisco neighborhood while anxiously awaiting the arrival of their green cards.

 

San Francisco Museums

 

California Academy of Sciences in San Francisco, CA

California Academy of Sciences

California Academy of Sciences is a San Francisco science museum, a scientific and educational institution made to explore and sustain life on Earth


The de Young Museum
The de Young Museum boasts a permanent collection of more than 27,000 works, including painting, sculpture, and decorative arts from the Americas, Africa, and Oceania. Bonus: find the elevator in the east end of the building and ride up, up, up to the Hamon Tower Observation Floor for breathtaking panoramic views of Golden Gate Park, the Golden Gate Bridge, and many a San Francisco neighborhood.
50 Hagiwara Tea Garden Drive in Golden Gate Park

The Museum of the African Diaspora
The distinctive voice of the late Maya Angelou introduces the moving personal stories in the “Slave Narratives” at the Museum of the African Diaspora, where art and technology are perfectly blended in other displays as well.
 
The Cartoon Art Museum
The  Cartoon Art Museum houses 6,000 pieces of original cartoon and animation art by artists from all over the world. See editorial cartoons, comic books, graphic novels, anime, and the Sunday funnies.
655 Mission Street

The Exploratorium
The Exploratorium personifies “interactive,” with some six hundred exhibits that encourage visitors of all ages to touch, tinker, and figure out how the world works, all while having fun. With so much going on in one place, the Exploratorium can be overwhelming at first. The six galleries are Light and Sound, Human Behavior, Living Systems, Tinkering, the Outdoor Gallery, and the Bay Observatory Gallery. Just cruise through, and stop to play at any exhibit that grabs your attention.
Pier 15 on the Embarcadero at Green Street
 
The Asian Art Museum
Longer-time San Franciscans will remember the Asian Art Museum's structure as the former Main SF library, but now visitors are greeted by a statue of Ganesha at the top of a sleek set of glass escalators. Far more than just a collection of scrolls and pottery, the Asian Art Museum caters to all ages, with both traditional displays and new-school, interactive events. Don't miss their teahouse, and be sure to stop in their meditation alcove for a final Om before you go.
200 Larkin Street in Civic Center


The Legion of Honor
A cast of Rodin's "The Thinker" greets you at the stately entrance to the Legion of Honor, which is filled with European paintings and decorative arts, ancient art, photography, and sculpture. Yes, it's a bit stuffier than the other museums on our list, but don't be too quick to dismiss classic, traditional art: it's still with us for a reason. Plus, the Legion of Honor is where Jimmy Stewart creeped on Kim Novak in Vertigo. That, alone, makes it worth a trip.
100 34th Avenue 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

More Books San Francisco

Cover Art
Lakas and the Manilatown Fish (Si Lakas at Ang Isdang Manilatown) - Anthony D. Robles; Carl Angel (Illustrator); Eloisa D. de Jesus (Translator); Magdalena de Guzman (Translator); Children's Book Press Staff
ISBN: 0892391820
Publication Date: 2003-02-27
A boy, his father, and an increasing number of people rush through the streets of San Francisco's historic Filipino American neighborhood, Manilatown, in pursuit of a fish that can talk and jump and play.

Cover Art
Pop's Bridge - Eve Bunting; C. F. Payne (Illustrator)
ISBN: 0152047735
Publication Date: 2006-05-01
Robert and his friend Charlie are proud of their fathers, who are working on the construction of San Francisco's Gold

Cover Art
Our San Francisco - Karen Misuraca (Text by); Gary Crabbe (Photographer); Images Staff
ISBN: 0896585999
Publication Date: 2003-07-31

LibGuides Guide

Profile Image
Debra Cardone

San Francisco Landmarks

 

Cable Car Museum/ Cable Car

 

More Books in San Francisco

Cover Art
If You Lived at the Time of the Great San Francisco Earthquake - Ellen Levine; Richard Williams (Illustrator); Pat Grant-Porter (Illustrator)
ISBN: 059045157X
Publication Date: 1992-07-01

Cover Art
Exploring Chinatown - Carol Stepanchuk; Leland Wong (Illustrator)
ISBN: 1881896250
Publication Date: 2002-02-01

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip