This is the "Home" page of the "3rd Grade Asia Country Information / Ms. Silva and Ms. Jones/ Ms. Seifert/Ms. T-F" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

3rd Grade Asia Country Information / Ms. Silva and Ms. Jones/ Ms. Seifert/Ms. T-F  

Resources useful for 3rd Grade Asia Countries
Last Updated: Apr 18, 2016 URL: http://hamlin.libguides.com/content.php?pid=697220 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books on Asia Fiction/Non-Fiction

Cover Art
Rickshaw Girl - Mitali Perkins; Jamie Hogan (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9781580893084
Publication Date: 2007-02-01
In her Bangladesh village, ten-year-old Naimi excels at painting designs called alpanas, but to help her impoverished family financially she would have to be a boy--or disguise herself as one

Cover Art
Four Feet, Two Sandals - Karen Lynn Williams; Doug Chayka (Illustrator); Khadra Mohammad
ISBN: 9780802852960
Publication Date: 2007-08-01
Two young Afghani girls living in a refugee camp in Pakistan share a precious pair of sandals brought by relief workers. Includes author's note about refugees

Cover Art
The Story of Divaali - Jatinder Verma; Nilesh Mistry (Illustrator); Vaalmaiki; Jatinder Nath Verma (Retold by)
ISBN: 1841489360
Publication Date: 2002-09-01
Retells the Hindu tale of a heroic prince and his bride who are separated by the demon prince Ravana until the Monkey Army of Hanuman, god of the wind helps them. Includes facts about Divaali, the festival celebrating Raama and Saitaa's return to their kingdom

Cover Art
Going to School in India - Lisa Heydlauff; Sushmita Sen (Foreword by); Nitin Upadhye (Photographer)
ISBN: 1570916667
Publication Date: 2005-02-01
A collection of nine stories of children who love school and do what they can to get there. Includes a boy who goes to school on a bus and a girl that can only go to school at night because she must work during the day

Subscription Databases



Concise, reliable, and up-to-date reports on more than 200 countries, each U.S. state, and all 13 Canadian provinces and territories. This database goes beyond mere facts and figures and includes daily life, culture, history, customs, and lifestyles of the world's people.

Excellent starting point for research on countries!

Useful information on Asian Countries!

Fact Monsters Countries of the World

Countries are listed alphabetically. Ignore pop-up ads

 

More Books on Asia

Cover Art
Yeh-Shen - Ai-Ling Louie; Ed Young (Illustrator)
ISBN: 039920900X
Publication Date: 1982-11-05
This version of the Cinderella story, in which a young girl overcomes the wickedness of her stepsister and stepmother to become the bride of a prince, is based on ancient Chinese manuscripts written 1000 years before the earliest European version

Cover Art
Lon Po Po - Ed Young (Illustrator, Translator)
ISBN: 0399216197
Publication Date: 1989-11-01
Three sisters staying home alone are endangered by a hungry wolf who is disguised as their grandmother

Cover Art
Tibet Through the Red Box - Peter Sís (Illustrator)
ISBN: 0374375526
Publication Date: 1998-11-05
Drawing on his father's long-hidden diary, a Czech artist and writer recounts his father's experiences in Tibet during the 1950s, which included witnessing the Chinese invasion of the region

Cover Art
The Dalai Lama - Demi (Illustrator); Dalai Lama XIV (Foreword by); Demi Demi (Illustrator)
ISBN: 080505443X
Publication Date: 1998-03-15
Pays tribute to the life of the fourteenth Dalai Lama by capturing the beauty of Tibetan culture and the charm, talent, and vision of the spiritual lead

 

Remember!

Remember!

Wikipedia  and using Google is not a reliable source and you may not use it in this or any other research report. Please use the links to the left. If you still need help finding information, please see Ms. Cardone or third grade classroom teachers.

 

More Asia Books

Cover Art
Listen to the Wind - Greg Mortenson; Susan L. Roth (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780803730588
Publication Date: 2009-01-22
Greg Mortenson stumbled, lost and delirious, into a remote Himalayan village after a failed climb up K2. The villagers saved his life, and he vowed to return and build them a school. The remarkable story of his promise kept is now perfect for reading aloud. Told in the voice of Korphe's children, this story illuminates the humanity and culture of a relevant and distant part of the world in gorgeous collage, while sharing a riveting example of how one person can change thousands of lives

Cover Art
Let's Eat - Beatrice Hollyer
ISBN: 0805073221
Publication Date: 2004-09-01
Explores what five children living in South Africa, Mexico, Thailand, France, and India eat at mealtime with their families, how their families obtain and prepare food, what kinds of food may be eaten at celebrations, and what their favorite food is. Includes recipes

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip