This is the "Belpré Medal" page of the "El dia de los ninos/ El Dia de los libros" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

El dia de los ninos/ El Dia de los libros  

Last Updated: Sep 12, 2015 URL: http://hamlin.libguides.com/content.php?pid=666289 Print Guide RSS Updates
Belpré Medal Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

El dia de los ninos/El dia de los libros

El dia de los ninos/ El dia de los libros (Day of the Child/Day of the Book), also known as "Dia", is a celebration based on childhood literacy that began in 1997. Borrowing from the traditional Mexican holiday. "El dia de los ninos," the American version was founded by author Pat Mora.

Websites & Other Resources

 

Author Winners - 2010s

The following winners are available in the WSC collection.

Cover Art
The Dreamer - Pam Muñoz Ryan; Peter Sís (Illustrator)
Call Number: j R957d
2011 WINNER

A fictionalized biography of the Nobel Prize-winning Chilean poet Pablo Neruda, who grew up a painfully shy child, ridiculed by his overbearing father, but who became one of the most widely-read poets in the world. Includes author's note about the poet

Cover Art
Return to Sender - Julia Alvarez
Call Number: j AL86r
2010 WINNER

After his family hires migrant Mexican workers to help save their Vermont farm from foreclosure, eleven-year-old Tyler befriends the oldest daughter, but when he discovers they may not be in the country legally, he realizes that real friendship knows no borders

 

Author Winners - 2000s

The following winners are available in the WSC collection.

Cover Art
The Surrender Tree - Margarita Engle
Call Number: j 811.6 En35s
2009 WINNER

Cuba has fought three wars for independence, and still she is not free. This history in verse creates a lyrical portrait of Cuba

Cover Art
Before We Were Free - Julia Alvarez
Call Number: j AL86b
2004 WINNER

In the early 1960s in the Dominican Republic, twelve-year-old Anita learns that her family is involved in the underground movement to end the bloody rule of the dictator, General Trujillo

Cover Art
Esperanza Rising - Pam Muñoz Ryan
Call Number: j R957e
2002 WINNER

Esperanza and her mother are forced to leave their life of wealth and privilege in Mexico to go work in the labor camps of Southern California, where they must adapt to the harsh circumstances facing Mexican farm workers on the eve of the Great Depression

Cover Art
Under the Royal Palms - Alma Flor Ada
Call Number: j 863.6 Ad11A
2000 WINNER

The author recalls her life and impressions growing up in Cuba

 

Author Winners - 1990s

The following winners are available in the WSC collection.>

Cover Art
Parrot in the Oven - Victor Martinez
Call Number: YA Fic M3639p
1998 WINNER

Manny relates his coming of age experiences as a member of a poor Mexican American family in which the alcoholic father only adds to everyone's struggle

Cover Art
Martina the Beautiful Cockroach - Carmen Agra Deedy; Michael Austin (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9781561453993
Publication Date: 2007-09-01
In this humorous retelling of a Cuban folktale, a cockroach interviews her suitors in order to decide whom to marry

Cover Art
Just in Case - Yuyi Morales (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9781596433298
Publication Date: 2008-10-14
In this version of a traditional tale, Senor Calavera arrives at Grandma Beetle's door, ready to take her to the next life, but after helping her count, in English and Spanish, as she makes her birthday preparations, he changes his mind.

Cover Art
My Abuelita - Tony Johnston; Yuyi Morales (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780152163303
Publication Date: 2009-09-07
With great gusto, a child's grandmother performs deep knee bends, consumes a breakfast of "huevos estrellados," and practices vocal exercises before going to work as a storyteller.

Cover Art
Too Many Tamales - Gary Soto; Ed Martinez (Illustrator)
ISBN: 0399221468
Publication Date: 1993-09-15
Maria tries on her mother's wedding ring while helping make tamales for a Christmas family get-together. Panic ensues when hours later, she realizes the ring is missing.

Cover Art
Get Set! Swim! - Jeannine Atkins; Hector Viveros Lee (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9781600603365
Publication Date: 2013-04-01
A young Puerto Rican girl learns an important lesson about pride and victory from her mother.

Cover Art
Doña Flor - Pat Mora; Raúl Colón (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780375823374
Publication Date: 2005-10-11
Dona Flor, a giant lady with a big heart, sets off to protect her neighbors from what they think is a dangerous animal, but soon discovers the tiny secret behind the huge noise.

Cover Art
A Chair for My Mother - Vera B. Williams (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780688009144
Publication Date: 1982-10-01
A child, her waitress mother, and her grandmother save dimes to buy a comfortable armchair after all their furniture is lost in a fire.

Cover Art
My Colors, My World - Maya Christina Gonzalez
ISBN: 9780892392216
Publication Date: 2007-07-16
Maya, who lives in the dusty desert, opens her eyes wide to find the colors in her world, from Papi's black hair and Mami's orange and purple flowers to Maya's red swing set and the fiery pink sunset.

Cover Art
María Tenía una Llamita - Angela Dominguez (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780805093339
Publication Date: 2013-08-20
Everyone knows about Mary and her little lamb. But do you know Maria?
With gorgeous, Peruvian-inspired illustrations and English and Spanish retellings, Angela Dominguez gives a fresh new twist to the classic rhyme. Maria and her mischievous little llama will steal your heart

Cover Art
Diego - Jonah Winter; Amy Prince (Translator); Jeanette Winter (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780679819875
Publication Date: 1991-07-20
Discusses the childhood of Diego Rivera and how it influenced his art

Cover Art
Dragons Love Tacos - Adam Rubin; Daniel Salmieri (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780803736801
Publication Date: 2012-06-14
Written in the style of chirpy self-help books, Dragons Love Tacos speaks directly to readers ("Hey, kid! Did you know that dragons love tacos?") and follows its absurd premise to a logical, if extreme, conclusion

Cover Art
Gathering the Sun - Alma Flor Ada; Simon Silva (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780688139032
Publication Date: 1997-04-28
A book of poems about working in the fields and nature's bounty, one for each letter of the Spanish alphabet

Cover Art
Cucú - Lois Ehlert; Gloria de Aragón Andújar (Translator)
ISBN: 9780152002749
Publication Date: 1997-03-15
A traditional Mayan tale which reveals how the cuckoo lost her beautiful feathers.

Cover Art
Yum! Mmmm! Que Rico! - Pat Mora; Rafael López (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9781584302711
Publication Date: 2007-10-01
From blueberries to vanilla, indigenous foods of the Americas are celebrated in this collection of haiku, which also includes information about each food's origins.

Cover Art
Chato's Kitchen - Gary Soto; Susan Guevara (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780399226588
Publication Date: 1995-03-21
To get the "ratoncitos," little mice who have moved into the barrio, to come to his house, Chato the cat prepares all kinds of good food: fajitas, frijoles, salsa, enchiladas, and more. But he is not prepared for the unexpected guest who accompanies the mice.

Cover Art
Hooray, a Pinata! - Elisa Kleven (Illustrator); Lidia Diaz (Translator)
ISBN: 0525456058
Publication Date: 1996-09-01
After she chooses a cute dog piñata for her birthday party, Clara pretends it is her pet and she doesn't want it to get broken.

Cover Art
Pumpkin Fiesta - Caryn Yacowitz; Joe Cepeda (Illustrator)
ISBN: 0060276584
Publication Date: 1998-08-30
Hoping to win a prize for the best pumpkin at the fiesta, Foolish Fernando tries to copy Old JuanaÕs successful gardening techniques, but without really watching to see how much effort and love she puts into her work. Includes a recipe for pumpkin soup

Cover Art
What Can You Do with a Rebozo? (¿Qué Puedes Hacer Con un Rebozo?) - Carmen Tafolla; Amy Córdova (Illustrator); Amy Cordova (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9781582462707
Publication Date: 2009-04-14
A spunky young girl explains the many uses of her mother's red rebozo, a traditional Mexican woven shawl.
Summary Note : Sumario en español: Una valiente niña explica los múltiples usos de el rebozo rojo de su madre, un chal tejido tradicional mexicano.

Cover Art
Siesta - Ginger Foglesong Guy; Rene King Moreno (Illustrator)
ISBN: 0060560630
Publication Date: 2005-03-29
A brother and sister and their teddy bear go through the house gathering items they will need for their siesta in the back yard

Cover Art
Chato Goes Cruisin' - Gary Soto; Susan Guevara (Illustrator, Translator)
ISBN: 039923974X
Publication Date: 2005-05-19
Chato and Novio win a cruise but are disappointed to find that everyone else on board is a dog, and things go from bad to worse when the dogs party themselves sick and it is up to the cats to find help

Cover Art
Chato's Kitchen - Gary Soto; Susan Guevara (Illustrator)
ISBN: 0399226583
Publication Date: 1995-03-21
To get the "ratoncitos," little mice, who have moved into the barrio to come to his house, Chato the cat prepares all kinds of good food: fajitas, frijoles, salsa, enchiladas, and more

Cover Art
Get Set! Swim! - Hector Viveros Lee (Illustrator); Jeannine Atkins
ISBN: 1880000660
Publication Date: 1998-10-01
A young Puerto Rican girl learns an important lesson about pride and victory from her mother

Cover Art
Mama and Papa Have a Store - Amelia Lau Carling
ISBN: 0803720440
Publication Date: 1998-06-01
A little girl describes what a day is like in her parents' Chinese store in Guatemala City

Cover Art
The Rainbow Tulip - Pat Mora; Elizabeth Sayles (Illustrator)
ISBN: 0670872911
Publication Date: 1999-09-01
A Mexican-American first-grader experiences the difficulties and pleasures of being different when she wears a tulip costume with all the colors of the rainbow for the school May Day parade

 

Illustrator Winners

The following winners are available in the Hamlin Lower School Library

Cover Art
Book Fiesta! - Pat Mora; Rafael Lopez (Illustrator)
Call Number: E Sp M79b (Foreign Lang Child)
2010 WINNER

Children read aloud in various settings to celebrate of El Día de los niños, or Children's Day, in this bilingual story. Includes facts about Mexico's annual celebration of children (April 30) and the book fiestas that are often included

Cover Art
Niño Wrestles the World - Yuyi Morales
Call Number: E Sp M793n (Foreign Lang Child)
2014 WINNER

Lucha Libre champion Niño has no trouble fending off monstrous opponents, but when his little sisters awaken from their naps, he is in for a no-holds-barred wrestling match that will truly test his skills

Cover Art
Viva Frida - Yuyi Morales; Tim O'Meara (Photographer)
ISBN: 9781596436039
Publication Date: 2014-09-02

 

Illustrator Winners - 2000s

The following winners are available in the WSC collection.  Please note that books labeled with (Foreign Lang Child) are located in a separate section.

Cover Art
Just in Case - Yuyi Morales (Illustrator)
Call Number: E Sp M793j (Foreign Lang Child)
2009 WINNER

As Señor Calavera prepares for Grandma Beetle's birthday he finds an alphabetical assortment of unusual presents, but with the help of Zelmiro the Ghost, he finds the best gift of all

Cover Art
Los Gatos Black on Halloween - Marisa Montes; Yuyi Morales (Illustrator)
Call Number: E Sp M7672g (Foreign Lang Child)
2008 WINNER

Easy to read, rhyming text about Halloween night incorporates Spanish words, from las brujas riding their broomsticks to los monstruos whose monstrous ball is interrupted by a true horror

Cover Art
Doña Flor: a tall tale about a giant woman with a great big heart - Pat Mora; Raúl Colón (Illustrator)
Call Number: E M79d
2006 WINNER

Doña Flor, a giant lady with a big heart, sets off to protect her neighbors from what they think is a dangerous animal, but soon discovers the tiny secret behind the huge noise

Cover Art
Just a Minute - Yuyi Morales
Call Number: j 398.2 M793
2004 WINNER

In this version of a traditional tale, Senor Calavera arrives at Grandma Beetle's door, ready to take her to the next life, but after helping her count, in English and Spanish, as she makes her birthday preparations, he changes his mind

Cover Art
Chato and the Party Animals - Gary Soto; Susan Guevara (Illustrator)
Call Number: E So78ch
2002 WINNER

Chato decides to throw a "pachanga" for his friend Novio Boy, who has never had a birthday party, but when it is time to party, Novio Boy cannot be found

Cover Art
Magic Windows (Ventanas Magicas) - Carmen Lomas Garza (Illustrator)
Call Number: E Sp G199m (Foreign Lang Child)
2000 WINNER

Carmen Lomas Garza portrays her family's Mexican customs through cut-paper work

 

Illustrator Winners - 1990s

The following winners are available in the WSC collection.  Please note that books labeled with (Foreign Lang Child) are located in a separate section.

Cover Art
Chato's Kitchen - Gary Soto; Susan Guevara (Illustrator)
Call Number: E So78a
1996 WINNER

To get the "ratoncitos," little mice, who have moved into the barrio to come to his house, Chato the cat prepares all kinds of good food: fajitas, frijoles, salsa, enchiladas, and more

Cover Art
Harvesting Hope - Kathleen Krull; Yuyi Morales (Illustrator)
ISBN: 0152014373
Publication Date: 2003-03-01
A biography of Cesar Chavez, from age ten when he and his family lived happily on their Arizona ranch, to age thirty-eight when he led a peaceful protest against California migrant workers' miserable working conditions.

Cover Art
Lado a Lado - Monica Brown; Joe Cepeda (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780061227813
Publication Date: 2010-08-31
Algo especial sucedió cuando Dolores Huerta y César Chávez se conocieron. Ellos lucharon juntos por los derechos de los campesinos. Lado a lado cultivaron esperanza, cambiando el curso de la historia.

Cover Art
Family Pictures (Cuadros de Familia) - Carmen Lomas Garza (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780892390502
Publication Date: 1990-05-01
The author describes, in bilingual text and illustrations, her experiences growing up in a Hispanic community in Texas

 

Meet Dia Founder Pat Mora!

 

More Hispanic Books

Cover Art
Tia Isa Wants a Car - Meg Medina; Claudio Muñoz (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780763641566
Publication Date: 2011-06-14
Tia Isa and her niece try to save enough money to buy a car to take the whole family to the beach.

Cover Art
Just in Case - Yuyi Morales (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9781596433298
Publication Date: 2008-10-14
As Senor Calavera prepares for Grandma Beetle's birthday he finds an alphabetical assortment of unusual presents, but with the help of Zelmiro the Ghost, he finds the best gift of all.

Cover Art
Tito Puente - Monica Brown; Rafael López (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780061227837
Publication Date: 2013-03-05
A celebration of the life and music of the man known as the "King of the Mambo" and the "Godfather of Salsa" covers his boyhood in New York and his years as a musician and bandleader, and highlights the pleasure he gave listeners.

Cover Art
Mamá Goose - Alma Flor Ada; F. Isabel Campoy; Maribel Suarez (Illustrator); Tracy Hefferman
ISBN: 9780786819539
Publication Date: 2005-03-01
Presents lullabies, finger plays, nursery rhymes, games, riddles, proverbs, and more in Spanish and English.

Cover Art
Chicks and Salsa - Paulette Bogan (Illustrator); Aaron Reynolds
ISBN: 9781582349725
Publication Date: 2005-10-07
Soon after the chickens tire of their feed and decide to make tortilla chips and salsa, all the other animals on Nuthatcher Farm start to crave southwestern cuisine.

Cover Art
Adelita - Tomie dePaola (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780399238666
Publication Date: 2002-09-16
After the death of her mother and father, Adelita is badly mistreated by her stepmother and stepsisters until she finds her own true love at a grand fiesta.

Cover Art
Un Lazo a la Luna - Lois Ehlert; Amy Prince (Translator)
ISBN: 9780152017026
Publication Date: 2003-08-01
Fox wants to go to the moon. Mole does not--at least not until he hears about the huge worms waiting up there for him to eat. So the two of them set off on their adventure, with a little help from a rope of grass and their friends the birds. The bilingual text and bold art showcase Lois Ehlert at her captivating best.

Cover Art
Frida - Jonah Winter; Ana Juan (Illustrator)
ISBN: 0590203207
Publication Date: 2002-02-01
In this refreshing tribute to Frida Kahlo and her imagination, Jonah Winter writes, "Frida doesn't cry or complain. Instead of crying, she paints pictures of herself crying." Winter gently explores how her suffering shapes her artwork in a way that children will be able to understand. Ana Juan's colorful fantasies evoke Frida's unique style and painting

Cover Art
Jalapeno Bagels - Natasha Wing; Robert Casilla (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780689805301
Publication Date: 1996-06-01
For International Day at school, Pablo wants to bring something that reflects the cultures of both his parents. Includes glossary and recipes for chango bars and jalapeno bagels

Cover Art
The Birthday Swap - Loretta Lopez (Illustrator)
ISBN: 1880000474
Publication Date: 1997-04-01
A five-year-old Mexican American girl who will not be six until December has a great deal to celebrate when her sister swaps birthdays with her in the summer

Cover Art
Adelita - Tomie dePaola (Illustrator)
ISBN: 0399238662
Publication Date: 2002-09-16
After the death of her mother and father, Adelita is badly mistreated by her stepmother and stepsisters until she finds her own true love at a grand fiesta.

Cover Art
Grandma's Gift - Eric Velasquez (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780802720825
Publication Date: 2010-10-12
The author describes Christmas at his grandmother's apartment in Spanish Harlem the year she introduced him to the Metropolitan Museum of Art and Diego Velazquez's portrait of Juan de Pareja, which has had a profound and lasting effect on him.

Cover Art
I Am Latino - Sandra L. Pinkney; Myles C. Pinkney
ISBN: 9780316160094
Publication Date: 2007-07-01
Photographs and poetic text celebrate the beauty and diversity of Latino children

Cover Art
Roadrunner's Dance - Rudolfo A. Anaya; David Diaz (Illustrator); Rudolfo Anaya
ISBN: 0786802545
Publication Date: 2000-08-01
Because Rattlesnake has taken over the road and will not let any of the people or animals in the village use it, Desert Woman enlists the aid of the other animals to create a strange new creature with the necessary tools to overcome Rattlesnake.

Cover Art
Under the Lemon Moon - Edith Hope Fine; Rene King Moreno (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9781584300519
Publication Date: 2013-04-01
The theft of all the lemons from her lemon tree leads Rosalinda to an encounter with la Anciana, the Old One, who walks the Mexican countryside helping things grow, and an understanding of generosity and forgiveness.

Cover Art
Una Pelicula en Mi Almohada - Jorge Argueta; Elizabeth Gomez (Illustrator); Elizabeth Gómez (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780892392193
Publication Date: 2013-04-01
Poems in Spanish and English describe the author's boyhood as a refugee from rural El Salvador living in San Francisco's Mission District, where he had to cope with a new language, a new culture, and a very different way of life

Cover Art
Liliana's Grandmothers - Leyla Torres (Illustrator)
ISBN: 0374351058
Publication Date: 1998-09-08
Because one of her grandmothers lives down the street and the other in a far away country, Liliana experiences two very different ways of life when she visits them

Cover Art
A Bear for Miguel - Elaine Marie Alphin; Joan Sandin (Illustrator)
ISBN: 0060245212
Publication Date: 1996-04-01
A young girl in El Salvador goes to the market with her father and helps her family obtain necessities by trading a precious item of her own

Cover Art
Llámeme Árbol - Maya Christina Gonzalez; Dana Goldberg
ISBN: 9780892392940
Publication Date: 2014-11-01
"A bilingual poetic tale that follows one child/tree from the depths of Mami/Earth to the heights of the sky, telling a story about being free to grow and be who we are meant to be and honoring our relationship with the natural world"--.

 

2015 Honor Books

Cover Art
Little Roja Riding Hood - Susan Middleton Elya; Susan Guevara (Illustrator)
Call Number: j Sp 398.2 EL91L (Foreign Lang Child)
ILLUSTRATOR HONOR

Susan Guevara’s illustrations are a visual treat full of suspense and humor adding a spin to the classic fairy tale. Her use of details, such as the three blind mice and the little duendes, and the texture of warm colors give readers glimpses into a contemporary Hispanic family.

Cover Art
Green Is a Chile Pepper - Roseanne Greenfield Thong; John Parra (Illustrator)
ILLUSTRATOR HONOR

Parra's vibrant folk art is the perfect complement to the text. The images depict diverse characters of all ages. Parra's wonderful illustrations portray many Hispanic cultural traditions. They have a sense of energy and liveliness, which gives a feeling of being at a fiesta celebrating colors and culture.

Cover Art
La Mariposa - Francisco Jiménez; Simón Silva (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780618073177
Publication Date: 2000-09-26
Because he can only speak Spanish, Francisco, son of a migrant worker, has trouble when he begins first grade, but his fascination with the caterpillar in the classroom helps him begin to fit in. Includes glossary.

Cover Art
Separate Is Never Equal - Duncan Tonatiuh
ILLUSTRATOR HONOR

Using his signature style of illustration, Duncan Tonatiuh tells the story of the Mendez family’s struggle for equal education. His digitally enhanced illustrations and his use of period detail convey the historical setting, linking this landmark case against injustice to a long campaign for human rights.

 

Previous Pura Belpre Honor Books

Cover Art
Pancho Rabbit and the Coyote - Duncan Tonatiuh
ISBN: 9781419705830
Publication Date: 2013-05-07
When Papa Rabbit does not return home as expected from many seasons of working in the great carrot and lettuce fields of El Norte, his son Pancho sets out on a dangerous trek to find him, guided by a coyote. Includes a

Cover Art
Cesar - Carmen T. Bernier-Grand; David Diaz (Illustrator); Bernier-Grand
ISBN: 0761451722
Publication Date: 2004-09-01
Who Could Tell? -- Cesario -- Dad: librado chavez -- Mom: Juana Estrada -- Happy moments -- The depression -- Papa Chayo's Rancho -- On the move -- Green gold -- I am a clown -- Prayer of the farm workers' struggle -- Pachuco days -- Virgen de guadalupe -- Crooked lines -- Learning what was inside of hime -- Delano -- Don't mourn-----organize! -- Si, se Puede! Yes, we can! -- More time than lif

Cover Art
Baseball in April and Other Stories - Gary Soto
ISBN: 015205720X
Publication Date: 1990-04-15

Cover Art
Mama and Papa Have a Store - Amelia Lau Carling
ISBN: 0803720440
Publication Date: 1998-06-01
A little girl describes what a day is like in her parents' Chinese store in Guatemala City

Cover Art
Mama and Papa Have a Store - Amelia Lau Carling
ISBN: 0803720440
Publication Date: 1998-06-01
A little girl describes what a day is like in her parents' Chinese store in Guatemala City

Cover Art
Marisol Mcdonald Doesn't Match / Marisol Mcdonald no Combina - Monica Brown; Sara Palacios (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780892392353
Publication Date: 2011-09-27
Marisol McDonald, a biracial, nonconformist, soccer-playing pirate-princess with brown skin and red hair, celebrates her uniqueness

Cover Art
The Pot That Juan Built - Nancy Andrews-Goebel; David Diaz (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9781584300380
Publication Date: 2002-10-01
A cumulative rhyme summarizes the life work of renowned Mexican potter, Juan Quezada. Additional information describes the process he uses to create his pots after the style of the Casas Grandes people

Cover Art
Sonia Sotomayor - Jonah Winter; Edel Rodriguez (Illustrator); Argentina Palacios Ziegler (Translator)
ISBN: 9781442403031
Publication Date: 2009-11-10
A biography of the first Puerto Rican--and third woman--Supreme Court justice emphasizes how she overcame a childhood of poverty in the South Bronx through her own and her mother's hard work and determination.

Cover Art
Gracias/Thanks - Pat Mora; John Parra
ISBN: 9781600602580
Publication Date: 2005-07-01
A young multiracial boy celebrates family, friendship, and fun by telling about some of the everyday things for which he is thankful.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip