Third Grade National Poetry Contest
This is the "Home" page of the "National Poetry Month " guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

National Poetry Month   Tags: celebrate national poetry month  

Last Updated: Apr 29, 2017 URL: http://hamlin.libguides.com/content.php?pid=585702 Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

About This Topic

Celebrate National Poetry Month!

Poems by Lower School  

  

The Sky

by Chiara Ferro

Looking up I see
you there

blue as blue

can be.

Birds upon

you marshmallow clouds

flying close 

 

Owls

by Chiara Ferro

Owls soar through the sky,

hiding in the shadows.

Eating mice,

flying high.

Mostly doing all these 

things at night.

Climbing

by Beatrice Morfit

Step by step.

Hand by hand.

Up 

and

up

to the top.

Ring the bell.

Now I'm done.

Letting go.

On 

the ground.

Blake

Blake is a snake

that lives in a lake

eating cake that he bakes

by Fletcher Werner

Celebration Graduation

Roses are red,

Violets are blue,

graduation is here,

We made it,

Woo hoo!

by Anya Mehra

Printable View

 

Great Poetry Books in the Library!

Cover Art
All by Herself - Ann Whitford Paul; Michael Steirnagle (Illustrator)
ISBN: 0152014772
Publication Date: 1999-10-04
Poems recount the stories of fourteen girls, some of whom later became famous, who performed acts of daring, determination, and heroic courage at a young age.

Cover Art
Here's a Little Poem - Jane Yolen (Compiled by); Polly Dunbar (Illustrator); Andrew Fusek Peters (Compiled by)
ISBN: 9780763631413
Publication Date: 2007-02-13
Collects poems from the English-speaking world, including those by such notable authors as A.A. Milne, Jack Prelutsky, and Robert Louis Stevenson.

Cover Art
The Book of Fairy Poetry - Michael Hague (Illustrator)
ISBN: 0688140041
Publication Date: 2004-10-12
A collection of poems about fairies, including selections by J.R.R. Tolkien, William Shakespeare, and Jack Prelutsky

Cover Art
Chicken Scratches - George Shannon; Lynn Brunelle; Scott Menchin (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780811866484
Publication Date: 2010-03-03
Celebrates the eccentric behavior of chickens, from a chicken who laid an egg as she danced, to a chicken who dresses up on Halloween as a deviled egg, to a chicken who is a sumo wrestler

Cover Art
The Frogs Wore Red Suspenders - Jack Prelutsky; Petra Mathers (Illustrator)
ISBN: 0688167195
Publication Date: 2002-03-01
Gathers a collection of rhyming poems, including "Red Horse, White Horse, Black Horse, Gray," "I'm a Little Brown Toad," and "Seven Snails and Seven Snakes.".

 

More Poetry Books

Cover Art
Poetry by Heart - Andrew Motion (Preface by); Liz Attenborough (Compiled by)
ISBN: 0439296579
Publication Date: 2001-09-01
Collects poems that lend themselves to memorization by such poets as W.H. Auden, Roald Dahl, William Shakespeare, Robert Frost, Lewis Carroll, Emily Dickinson, Seamus Heaney, Edward Lear, Langston Hughes, and W.B. Yeats.

Cover Art
I've Lost My Hippopotamus - Jack Prelutsky; Jackie Urbanovic (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780062014573
Publication Date: 2012-03-13

Cover Art
All by Herself - Ann Whitford Paul; Michael Steirnagle (Illustrator)
ISBN: 0152014772
Publication Date: 1999-10-04

Cover Art
Around the World in Eighty Poems - James Berry (Contribution by); Katherine Lucas (Illustrator)
ISBN: 0811835065
Publication Date: 2002-07-01

Cover Art
Bein' with You This Way - W. Nikola-Lisa; Michael Bryant (Illustrator)
ISBN: 1880000059
Publication Date: 1994-03-01

Cover Art
The Book of Fairy Poetry - Michael Hague (Illustrator)
ISBN: 0688140041
Publication Date: 2004-10-12
A collection of poems about fairies, including selections by J.R.R. Tolkien, William Shakespeare, and Jack Prelutsky

Cover Art
Dogku - Andrew Clements; Tim Bowers (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780689858239
Publication Date: 2007-06-26
A haiku poem about a loveable dog

Cover Art
Emma Dilemma - Kristine O'Connell George; Nancy Carpenter (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780618428427
Publication Date: 2011-02-22
Jessica celebrates all the fun she has with her little sister, Emma, but also describes the ways in which Emma's behavior can be frustrating

Cover Art
Fold Me a Poem - Kristine O'Connell George; Lauren Stringer (Illustrator)
ISBN: 0152025014
Publication Date: 2005-04-01
A collection of poems about origami animals.

Cover Art
Joyful Noise - Paul Fleischman; Eric Beddows (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780064460934
Publication Date: 2005-01-04
Written to be read aloud by two voices—sometimes alternating, sometimes simultaneous--here is a collection of irresistible poems that celebrate the insect world, from the short life of the mayfly to the love song of the book louse. Funny, sad, loud, and quiet, each of these poems resounds with a booming, boisterous, joyful noise.

Cover Art
Sing a Song of Popcorn - Beatrice Schenk De Regniers; Eva Moore (Editor); Mary Michaels White; Jan Carr (Editor); Nine Caldecott (Illustrator); Ed Moore
ISBN: 9780590439749
Publication Date: 1988-09-01

Cover Art
Red Sings from Treetops - Joyce Sidman; Pamela Zagarenski (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780547014944
Publication Date: 2009-04-06
In this Caldecott Honor book, illustrator Pam Zagarenski's interpretations go beyond the concrete, allowing us to not just see color, but feel it.

Cover Art
A Child's Calendar - John Updike; Trina Schart Hyman (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780823417667
Publication Date: 2002-09-01
Twelve poems follow a family and their friends through the seasons. A Caldecott Honor Book.

Cover Art
Ogden Nash's Zoo - Ogden Nash; Etienne Delessert
ISBN: 9780941434959
Publication Date: 1986-03-15
A collection of verses about animals with an illustration for every verse from Etienne Delessart. (Classic)

Cover Art
I, Too, Am America - Langston Hughes; Bryan Collier (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9781442420083
Publication Date: 2012-05-22
Winner of the Coretta Scott King illustrator award, I, Too, Am America blends the poetic wisdom of Langston Hughes with visionary illustrations from Bryan Collier in this inspirational picture book that carries the promise of equality.

Cover Art
Harlem - Walter Dean Myers; Christopher Myers (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780590543408
Publication Date: 1997-02-01
Experienced readers will enjoy this stunning and sophisticated visit to Harlem in word and image. Landmarks like the Cotton Club and the Apollo Theater are included and invite discussion.
Age 9 and up

Cover Art
My Chinatown - Kam Mak (Illustrator); Mak
ISBN: 9780060291907
Publication Date: 2001-12-04
It's a New Year in Chinatown, but one little boy from Hong Kong wonders, "How can it ever be a good year thousands of miles from home?" As he moves through the seasons, however, New York finally begins to feel like home. Told in verse, these poems capture the challenges of adapting to a new life from a child's point of view. Vivid paintings with a photograph-like quality bring the poems to life.

Cover Art
Poems to Dream Together - Francisco X. Alarcón; Paula Barragán (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9781584302339
Publication Date: 2005-05-01
Dreams are for the day and the night. Children dream for themselves as well as their community and their world. Short poems, richly imagined and vibrantly illustrated appear in English and Spanish and are firmly rooted in a child's experience.

Cover Art
Toasting Marshmallows - Kristine O'Connell George; Kate A. Kiesler (Illustrator); Kate Kiesler (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780618045976
Publication Date: 2001-02-28
Come along with a girl and her family through an entire camping experience – from pitching tent, to fishing her little brother out of the lake, to discovering abandoned cabins and cars in the woods,… and of course, to toasting marshmallows by the fire. The writing is light, lyrical, and conveys a strong sense of setting. You can hear the owl’s “one lone vowel,” sense the vastness of a “small me…staked to a huge planet,” see the “scribbles” of the “river messages.”

 

What is Spine Poetry?

Book Spine Poetry

 Book Spine poetry, a specific form of found poetry, is a fun way to create your own original poems using book titles written on the spines of books.  Use your favorite book titles or ones you've yet to read!  The poems can be free verse or rhyming, have rhythm and structure like haiku poem or not. It's all up to you!

 

  

Echo

Flush

Out of the Dust

Scat

Chomp 

No Cream Puffs

Smoky

Dial a Ghost

The Girls Take Over

By Emma and Lily

 

                           

                                               
                                               
 

Spine Poetry

 

By Palmer and Lily

Meet Addy

The Toothpaste Millionaire

Terrific

Teeth

Addy Learns a Lesson

Never Smile At A Monkey

 

Shel Silvertein from Everything On It Man Eating Plant

 

Award Winning Third Grade Poetry

Winter is Coming

By: Whitney Kanter

 

 

Dark green leaves turn to bright red ones,

The grass turns brown,

It gets colder,

The wind dances across the rooftops of houses,

Leaves fall off trees,

A light snow starts to fall

This is a sign that winter is coming.

 

 

I peek inside houses,

Kids wrapped in thick, fuzzy blankets,

Mom making hot tea, Dad making warm turkey,

Grandma knitting and Grandpa taking a nap as a warm fire burns in the distance,

This is a sign that winter is coming.

 

 

I look through the windows of the village bakery,

I see people ordering hot chocolate, coffee, and Christmas cookies,

This is a sign that winter is coming.

 

 

Smoke pours out of chimneys, a warm fire burns in the distance,

I watch kids play on the street with rosy cheeks,

Building snowmen and making snow angels,

Sleds dash down hills in every direction, snow takes over the town,

This is a sign that winter is here.

Lower School 

 

A Poem Read by Shel Silverstein

 

Celebrate National Poetry Month

Cover Art
Around the World in Eighty Poems - James Berry (Contribution by); Katherine Lucas (Illustrator)
ISBN: 0811835065
Publication Date: 2002-07-01

Cover Art
Falling Up - Shel Silverstein (Illustrator)
ISBN: 0060248033
Publication Date: 1996-05-10

Cover Art
A Light in the Attic - Shel Silverstein (Illustrator)
ISBN: 0060256745
Publication Date: 1981-10-07

Cover Art
Angel to Angel - Walter Dean Myers
ISBN: 0060277211
Publication Date: 1998-04-01

Cover Art
Emma Dilemma - Kristine O'Connell George; Nancy Carpenter (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780618428427
Publication Date: 2011-02-22

Cover Art
Mirror Mirror - Marilyn Singer; Josée Masse (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780525479017
Publication Date: 2010-03-04
A collection of short poems which, when reversed, provide new perspectives on the fairy tale characters they feature

Cover Art
Follow Follow - Marilyn Singer; Josée Masse (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780803737693
Publication Date: 2013-02-07
A collection of short poems called reversos which, when reversed, provide new perspectives on the fairy tale characters they feature.

Cover Art
Enormous Smallness - Matthew Burgess; Kris Di Giacomo (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9781592701711
Publication Date: 2015-04-07
Gr 3 Up—This enchanting picture book biography introduces children to the life and work of e.e. cummings, one of America's most innovative poets. With a tree house in the city and a cabin by the woods in the country each summer, cummings grew up surrounded by family and nature, and his imagination soared. He began writing poetry from the age of three, which his mother recorded. Written in verse, the text is accessible and lends itself well to read-alouds. The book itself is a work of art, full of thick pages of whimsical, full-spread illustrations in a palette of grays, blues, browns, and greens. Burgess chronicles the poet's childhood and early adulthood, beginning and ending in the Greenwich Village studio where he would spend nearly 40 years of his life. Several child-friendly poems, including "who are you, little i" and "in Just-," are interwoven into the text (and appended). Pair with Jen Bryant and Melissa Sweet's Caldecott Honor title A River of Words: The Story of William Carlos Williams (Eerdmans, 2008) for a unit on poetry. VERDICT A unique and inspiring introduction.—Barbara Auerbach, New York City Public Schools

Cover Art
Where the Sidewalk Ends - Shel Silverstein (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780060572341
Publication Date: 2014-02-18
Come in . . . for where the sidewalk ends, Shel Silverstein's world begins. You'll meet a boy who turns into a TV set, and a girl who eats a whale. The Unicorn and the Bloath live there, and so does Sarah Cynthia Sylvia Stout who will not take the garbage out. It is a place where you wash your shadow and plant diamond gardens, a place where shoes fly, sisters are auctioned off, and crocodiles go to the dentist.

Cover Art
The New Kid on the Block - Jack Prelutsky; James Stevenson (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780062239501
Publication Date: 2013-02-26
Open this book to any page and begin your exploration. Here are more than 100 poems about things you may never have thought about before. Turn the pages and be introduced to jellyf ish stew, a bouncing mouse, a ridiculous dog, a boneless chicken, and the very unexpected new kid!

Cover Art
The Random House Book of Poetry for Children - Jack Prelutsky; Arnold Lobel (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780394850108
Publication Date: 1983-09-12
The Random House Book of Poetry for Children offers both funny and illuminating poems for kids personally selected by the nation's first Children's Poet Laureate, Jack Prelutsky. Featuring a wealth of beloved classic poems from the past and modern glittering gems, every child who opens this treasury will finda world of surprises and delights which will instill a lifelong love of poetry.

Cover Art
National Geographic Book of Animal Poetry - J. Patrick Lewis (Compiled by)
ISBN: 9781426310096
Publication Date: 2012-09-11
Well-chosen poems are paired with breathtaking photos of the featured creatures, many depicted in their natural habitats. Entries vary from playful to thought-provoking, and the mixture of word and visual image is potent. Providing creative perspectives on critters from polliwogs to panthers, egrets to elephants, these selections will inspire youngsters to try penning an animal ode.

Cover Art
Hip Hop Speaks to Children - Nikki Giovanni; Alicia Vergel de Dios (Illustrator); Damian Ward (Illustrator); Kristen Balouch (Illustrator); Michele Noiset (Illustrator); Jeremy Tugeau (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9781402210488
Publication Date: 2008-10-01
Poetry can have both a rhyme and a rhythm. Sometimes it is obvious; sometimes it is hidden. But either way, make no mistake, poetry is as vibrant and exciting as it gets. And when you find yourself clapping your hands or tapping your feet, you know you've found poetry with a beat!

Cover Art
Poems to Learn by Heart - Caroline Kennedy; Jon J. Muth (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9781423108054
Publication Date: 2013-03-26
There's a poem to celebrate every moment in life-whether it's hitting a home run, watching a sunset, or laughing with your best friend. A poem is a gift of the heart that can inspire, reassure, or challenge us. Memorize it-share it-it's yours forever.

Cover Art
The 20th Century Children's Poetry Treasury - Jack Prelutsky (Selected by); Meilo So (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780679893141
Publication Date: 1999-09-28
Until this century, most children's poetry was either syrupy sweet or overblown and didactic, and tended to talk down to its readers. Contemporary children's poets have thrown all that condescension and moralizing out the window, and write with today's real child in mind."
- from the Introduction by Jack Prelutsky

Cover Art
When We Were Very Young - A. A. Milne; Ernest H. Shepard (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780525444459
Publication Date: 1988-10-31
The imaginative charm that has made Pooh the world’s most famous bear pervades the pages of Milne’s poetry, and Ernest H. Shepard’s witty and loving illustrations enhance these truly delightful gift editions. (less)

Cover Art
Now We Are Six - A. A. Milne; Ernest H. Shepard (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780525444466
Publication Date: 1988-10-31

Cover Art
Dark Emperor and Other Poems of the Night - Joyce Sidman; Rick Allen (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780547152288
Publication Date: 2010-09-06
Welcome to the night, where mice stir and furry moths flutter. Where snails spiral into shells as orb spiders circle in silk. Where the roots of oak trees recover and repair from their time in the light. Where the porcupette eats delicacies—raspberry leaves!—and coos and sings.

Cover Art
The Dragons Are Singing Tonight - Jack Prelutsky; Peter Sís (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780688161620
Publication Date: 1998-08-27
Because it appeals on so many levels, this is one poetry book that won't siton the shelf for long."--

Cover Art
Lemonade - Bob Raczka; Nancy Doniger (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9781596435414
Publication Date: 2011-03-15
Part anagram, part rebus, part riddle--these poems capture a scene from a child's daily life and present a puzzle to solve. Sometimes sweet and sometimes funny, but always clever, these poems are fun to read and even more fun for kids to write.

Cover Art
Won Ton - Lee Wardlaw; Eugene Yelchin (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780805089950
Publication Date: 2011-02-15

Cover Art
Old Possum's Book of Practical Cats - T. S. Eliot; Edward Gorey (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780151686568
Publication Date: 1982-08-30
Eliot’s famous collection of nonsense verse about cats-the inspiration for the Andrew Lloyd Webber musical Cats. This edition features pen-and-ink drolleries by Edward Gorey throughout. (Classic poetry book)

Cover Art
The Complete Book of the Flower Fairies - Cicely Mary Barker
ISBN: 9780723248392
Publication Date: 2002-10-14
Enjoy the classic, complete collection of Cicely Mary Barker's original Flower Fairies books in this brand-new edition.

Cover Art
Hailstones and Halibut Bones - Mary O'Neill; John Wallner (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780385410786
Publication Date: 1990-04-01
Since its original publication in 1961, Hailstones And Halibut Bones, Mary O'Neill's renowned work of poetry about the colors of the spectrum, has become a modern children's classic.

Cover Art
When Green Becomes Tomatoes - Julie Fogliano; Julie Morstad (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9781596438521
Publication Date: 2016-03-01
Short poems and gentle illustrations present seasons almost as a journal. Each entry captures natural beauty and emotions that often accompany them. For example the March 13 entry: “politely/but tired of mittens/I asked winter to please tell the snow/thank you very much, but no”.

Cover Art
Flutter and Hum / Aleteo y Zumbido - Julie Paschkis (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9781627791038
Publication Date: 2015-08-18
Short poems about animals appear in English and Spanish accompanied by textured illustrations reminiscent of folk art. An author's note reveals that she is neither a poet nor native Spanish speaking but was launched into both Spanish and poetry when she discovered the work of Pablo Neruda.

Cover Art
Marvelous Math - Lee Bennett Hopkins (Selected by); Karen Barbour (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780689844423
Publication Date: 2001-08-01
This collection of poems by Karla Kuskin, David McCord, and Janet Wong features rhymes about mathematics, numbers, and having fun, accompanied by illustrations in a naïve style.

Cover Art
A Movie in My Pillow / Una Pelicula en Mi Almohada - Jorge Argueta; Elizabeth Gomez (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780892391653
Publication Date: 2001-01-24
Young Jorgito lives in San Francisco's Mission District, but he hasn't forgotten his native El Salvador. He recalls the volcanoes, the tasty cornmeal pupusas, and his grandmother's stories. As he changes from timid newcomer to seasoned city dweller, Jorgito's memories and new adventures form a patchwork of dreams — the movie in his pillow — that is perfectly suited to his new bicultural identity.

Cover Art
My Name Is Jorge - Jane Medina; Fabricio Vanden Broeck (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9781563978425
Publication Date: 1999-10-01
This collection of bilingual poems gives voice to a young boy who has recently come to the U.S. from Mexico. He wonders, for example, why he has suddenly lost all of his intelligence here if in his country he was smart. From getting a library card to making friends, Jorge must find ways to overcome the challenges of his new life. An excellent portrayal of the roller coaster that newcomers experience upon arrival in the U.S.

Cover Art
My People - Langston Hughes; Charles R. Smith (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9781416935407
Publication Date: 2009-01-06
Langston Hughes's spare yet eloquent tribue to his people has been cherished for generations. Now, acclaimed photographer Charles R. Smith Jr. interprets this beloved poem in vivid sepia photographs that capture the glory, the beauty, and the soul of being a black American today.

Cover Art
One Leaf Rides the Wind - Celeste Davidson Mannis; Susan Kathleen Hartung (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780142401958
Publication Date: 2005-03-17
This richly illustrated collection of haiku poems is a counting book as well as an introduction to Japanese gardens and to a poetic form. From one leaf chased by a little girl to 10 stone lanterns, this garden can be enjoyed on several levels.

Cover Art
Yum! Mmmm! Que Rico! - Pat Mora; Rafael López (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9781584302711
Publication Date: 2007-10-01
Celebrate the native foods of the Americas — peanuts, blueberries, corn, potatoes, tomatoes, and more — through haiku poetry and stunning artwork from award-winning illustrator Rafael López.

Cover Art
Life Doesn't Frighten Me - Maya Angelou; Sara Jane Boyers; Jean-Michel Basquat (Artist)
ISBN: 9781556702884
Publication Date: 1996-02-06
Maya Angelou's brave, defiant poem celebrates the courage within each of us, young and old. From the scary thought of panthers in the park to the unsettling scene of a new classroom, fearsome images are summoned and dispelled by the power of faith in ourselves.

Cover Art
Good Sports - Jack Prelutsky; Chris Raschka (Illustrator)
ISBN: 9780375837005
Publication Date: 2007-03-13

LibGuides Guide

Profile Image
Debra Cardone

What is Poem in Your Pocket?

Poem in Your Pocket Day is held each year as part of National Poetry Month.  Everyone is encouraged to choose a short poem to carry and share with others throughout the day. Please consider sharing a poem with your family at dinner during the month of April.

  

      
     

    More Poetry Books

    Cover Art
    Poems to Learn by Heart - Caroline Kennedy; Jon J. Muth (Illustrator)
    ISBN: 9781423108054
    Publication Date: 2013-03-26

    Cover Art
    Roald Dahl's Revolting Rhymes - Roald Dahl; Quentin Blake (Illustrator)
    ISBN: 0375815562
    Publication Date: 2002-02-12
    Humorous retellings in verse of six well-known fairy tales featuring surprise endings in place of the traditional happily-ever-after

    Cover Art
    A Family of Poems - Jon J. Muth (Illustrator); Caroline Kennedy
    ISBN: 0786851112
    Publication Date: 2005-09-01
    An anthology of poems celebrating poetry's ability to connect us like family

    Cover Art
    Keep Climbing, Girls - Beah E. Richards; R. Gregory Christie (Illustrator); LisaGay Hamilton (Introduction by, Intro and Notes by)
    ISBN: 1416902643
    Publication Date: 2006-01-01
    Tells in verse how, despite having been threatened with punishment and yelled at numerous times by her elders, a young girl just cannot help herself when it comes to climbing and so ventures, time and again, to the top of the branch in order to demonstrate to all the special skills she has.

    Cover Art
    The Book of Fairy Poetry - Michael Hague (Illustrator)
    ISBN: 0688140041
    Publication Date: 2004-10-12
    A collection of poems about fairies, including selections by J.R.R. Tolkien, William Shakespeare, and Jack Prelutsky.

    Cover Art
    The Popcorn Astronauts - Deborah Ruddell; Joan Rankin (Illustrator)
    ISBN: 9781442465558
    Publication Date: 2015-03-24
    A collection of seasonal poems pays tribute to favorite foods with entries ranging from "Strawberry Queen" and "Only Guacamole" to "21 Things to Do With an Apple" and "The Cocoa Cabana".

    Cover Art
    Poetry by Heart - Andrew Motion (Preface by); Liz Attenborough (Compiled by)
    ISBN: 9780439296571
    Publication Date: 2001-09-01
    Collects poems that lend themselves to memorization by such poets as W.H. Auden, Roald Dahl, William Shakespeare, Robert Frost, Lewis Carroll, Emily Dickinson, Seamus Heaney, Edward Lear, Langston Hughes, and W.B. Yeats.

    Cover Art
    National Geographic Book of Animal Poetry - J. Patrick Lewis (Compiled by)
    ISBN: 9781426310546
    Publication Date: 2012-09-11
    Combines photography with lyrical text celebrating the animal world, in a compilation that includes works by such poets as Emily Dickinson, Robert Frost and Rudyard Kipling.

    Cover Art
    Once I Ate a Pie - Patricia MacLachlan; Katy Schneider (Illustrator); Emily MacLachlan Charest
    ISBN: 9780060735319
    Publication Date: 2006-04-25
    An illustrated collection of poetry by such Afro-American poets as Langston Hughes, Nikki Giovanni, Eloise Greenfield, and Lucille Clifton.

    Cover Art
    Casey at the Bat - Ernest Lawrence Thayer; Christopher Bing (Illustrator)
    ISBN: 9781929766000
    Publication Date: 2000-10-01
    An illustrated version of the classic poem about Brian Casey, the 19th century baseball legend.

     

    More Poetry Books

    Cover Art
    Eric Carle's Animals Animals - Laura Whipple (Editor); Eric Carle
    ISBN: 0399217444
    Publication Date: 1989-08-17

    Cover Art
    The Blacker the Berry - Joyce Carol Thomas; Floyd Cooper (Illustrator)
    ISBN: 9780060253769
    Publication Date: 2008-07-01
    A collection of poems, including "Golden Goodness," "Cranberry Red," and "Biscuit Brown," celebrating individuality and Afro-American identity

    Cover Art
    Beneath a Blue Umbrella - Jack Prelutsky; Garth Williams (Illustrator)
    ISBN: 0688064299
    Publication Date: 1990-04-27

    Cover Art
    Brown Honey in Broomwheat Tea - Joyce Carol Thomas; Floyd Cooper (Illustrator)
    ISBN: 0060210885
    Publication Date: 1993-10-01

    Cover Art
    Ellington Was Not a Street - Ntozake Shange; Kadir Nelson (Illustrator)
    ISBN: 0689828845
    Publication Date: 2004-01-01

    Cover Art
    Firefly July - Paul B. Janeczko; Melissa Sweet (Illustrator)
    ISBN: 9780763648428
    Publication Date: 2014-03-11

    Cover Art
    Flutter and Hum / Aleteo y Zumbido - Julie Paschkis (Illustrator)
    ISBN: 9781627791038
    Publication Date: 2015-08-18
    All sorts of animals flutter and hum, dance and stretch, and slither and leap their way through this joyful collection of poems in English and Spanish. Julie Paschkis's words and art sing in both languages, bringing out the beauty and playfulness of the animal world""-- Provided by publish

    Cover Art
    For Laughing Out Loud - Jack Prelutsky (Selected by); Marjorie Priceman (Illustrator)
    ISBN: 0394921445
    Publication Date: 1991-03-20

    Cover Art
    Good Dog - Maya Gottfried; Robert Rahway Zakanitch (Illustrator)
    ISBN: 0375830499
    Publication Date: 2005-01-25

     

    Poetry Book Recommendations

    Cover Art
    A family of poems my favorite poetry for children
    ISBN: 0786851112

    Cover Art
    A Kick in the Head - Chris Raschka (Illustrator); Paul B. Janeczko (Compiled by)
    ISBN: 0763606626
    Publication Date: 2005-03-03

    Cover Art
    A Child's Garden of Verses
    ISBN: 0192760653

    Cover Art
    A Dazzling Display of Dogs - Michael Wertz (Illustrator); Betsy Franco
    ISBN: 9781582463872
    Publication Date: 2011-01-25

    Cover Art
    Imaginary Gardens - Charles Sullivan
    ISBN: 0810911302
    Publication Date: 1989-09-01
    Includes a selection of poems by American poets and works of art by a variety of artists

    Cover Art
    A Poke in the I - Chris Raschka (Illustrator); Paul B. Janeczko (Editor)
    ISBN: 9780763623760
    Publication Date: 2005-03-03
    A Poke in the I is a collection of concrete poetry, also known as visual poetry. In concrete poetry, more emphasis is placed on the visual effect of words.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip